X2Go Bug report logs - #1201
Black window with KDE5 plasma

version graph

Package: x2goserver; Maintainer for x2goserver is X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>; Source for x2goserver is src:x2goserver.

Reported by: Klaus Fuerstberger <linuxbox@arcor.de>

Date: Fri, 18 Aug 2017 10:35:01 UTC

Severity: normal

Merged with 892

Found in versions,

Full log

🔗 View this message in rfc822 format

X-Loop: owner@bugs.x2go.org
Subject: Bug#1201: [X2Go-Dev] Black window with KDE5 plasma
Reply-To: Mihai Moldovan <ionic@ionic.de>, 1201@bugs.x2go.org
Resent-From: Mihai Moldovan <ionic@ionic.de>
Resent-To: x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org
Resent-CC: X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>
X-Loop: owner@bugs.x2go.org
Resent-Date: Fri, 01 Sep 2017 05:20:02 +0000
Resent-Message-ID: <handler.1201.B1201.150424311610607@bugs.x2go.org>
Resent-Sender: owner@bugs.x2go.org
X-X2Go-PR-Message: followup 1201
X-X2Go-PR-Package: x2goserver
Received: via spool by 1201-submit@bugs.x2go.org id=B1201.150424311610607
          (code B ref 1201); Fri, 01 Sep 2017 05:20:02 +0000
Received: (at 1201) by bugs.x2go.org; 1 Sep 2017 05:18:36 +0000
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.4.1 (2015-04-28) on
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-2.0 required=3.0 tests=BAYES_00,DKIM_SIGNED,
	DKIM_VALID,DKIM_VALID_AU,SPF_HELO_PASS autolearn=ham autolearn_force=no
Received: from localhost (localhost [])
	by ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de (Postfix) with ESMTP id 0B19C5DACF
	for <1201@bugs.x2go.org>; Fri,  1 Sep 2017 07:18:33 +0200 (CEST)
X-Virus-Scanned: Debian amavisd-new at ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de
Received: from ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de ([])
	by localhost (ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de []) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
	with ESMTP id P6r810Hvfzrz for <1201@bugs.x2go.org>;
	Fri,  1 Sep 2017 07:18:28 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from Root24.de (powered.by.root24.eu [])
	by ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de (Postfix) with ESMTP id 262AE5DA8C
	for <1201@bugs.x2go.org>; Fri,  1 Sep 2017 07:18:28 +0200 (CEST)
Received: from [] ( [])
	by mail.ionic.de (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 929334F003CA;
	Fri,  1 Sep 2017 07:18:27 +0200 (CEST)
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=simple/simple; d=ionic.de; s=default;
	t=1504243107; bh=sYtrtpRFsXepyUp71s10xvaQxlBFTFnCZQCRBRW6cRI=;
To: Klaus Fuerstberger <linuxbox@arcor.de>, 1201@bugs.x2go.org
References: <730dff47-1a1b-a7a0-3f05-ebd2905ac555@arcor.de>
From: Mihai Moldovan <ionic@ionic.de>
Message-ID: <9376ae1f-5ea3-0c0d-f3ce-969dc2036276@ionic.de>
Date: Fri, 1 Sep 2017 07:18:27 +0200
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20100101
MIME-Version: 1.0
In-Reply-To: <1a3dea91-6f46-091c-52df-80277c28dde2@arcor.de>
Content-Type: multipart/signed; micalg=pgp-sha512;
[Message part 1 (text/plain, inline)]
On 08/28/2017 03:46 PM, Klaus Fuerstberger wrote:
> I tested an KDE Neon LTS 5.8 (based on Ubuntu xenial) and KDE Neon 5.9
> (based on Ubuntu zesty) on my system. With both distributions, nouveau
> and mesa glx is running fine. Also connecting with x2go to an x2goserver
> installed is no problem.
> After compiling and installing the mentioned latest NVIDIA driver, x2go
> fails again to launch KDE plasma.

This is likely the cause because the nVidia driver installs its own libGL version.

This is fine as long you only ever use the machine locally, but fails badly in
use cases such as X2Go.

Typically it might be possible to ignore the directory in which the package
installs this special libGL version and thus making sure that the MESA-gl
version is being used. Not a trivial task to do from X2Go's viewpoint, since the
libGL directory is hardcoded within the system's ld.so.conf file.


[signature.asc (application/pgp-signature, attachment)]

Send a report that this bug log contains spam.

X2Go Developers <owner@bugs.x2go.org>. Last modified: Sun Jan 29 12:51:56 2023; Machine Name: ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de

X2Go Bug tracking system

Debbugs is free software and licensed under the terms of the GNU Public License version 2. The current version can be obtained from https://bugs.debian.org/debbugs-source/.

Copyright © 1999 Darren O. Benham, 1997,2003 nCipher Corporation Ltd, 1994-97 Ian Jackson, 2005-2017 Don Armstrong, and many other contributors.