X2Go Bug report logs - #1509
Unsupported pack methods

version graph

Package: x2goclient; Maintainer for x2goclient is X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>; Source for x2goclient is src:x2goclient.

Reported by: uli42@gmx.de

Date: Tue, 1 Dec 2020 12:00:01 UTC

Severity: normal

Found in version

Reply or subscribe to this bug.

Toggle useless messages

View this report as an mbox folder, status mbox, maintainer mbox

Report forwarded to x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org, X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>:
Bug#1509; Package x2goclient. (Tue, 01 Dec 2020 12:00:02 GMT) (full text, mbox, link).

Acknowledgement sent to uli42@gmx.de:
New Bug report received and forwarded. Copy sent to X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>. (Tue, 01 Dec 2020 12:00:02 GMT) (full text, mbox, link).

Message #5 received at submit@bugs.x2go.org (full text, mbox, reply):

From: Ulrich Sibiller <ulrich.sibiller@gmail.com>
To: submit@bugs.x2go.org
Subject: Unsupported pack methods
Date: Tue, 1 Dec 2020 12:56:15 +0100
Package: x2goclient

In the session configuration users can choose compressions methods
with "rdp" and "rfb" in the name. Both compression methods are not
supported by nx-libs since version 3.0.x  and will lead to no image
packing being used at all. From the session log:

Loop: PANIC! Can't identify pack method for string '16m-rdp-compressed'.
Error: Can't identify pack method for string '16m-rdp-compressed'
Info: Using pack method 'none' with session 'unix-kde-depth_32'.

This is absolutely counter-intuitive. Users selecting a compression
method on purpose surely do not want to end up with no image
compression at all.

So they should be dropped completely.

Send a report that this bug log contains spam.

X2Go Developers <owner@bugs.x2go.org>. Last modified: Mon May 27 12:50:02 2024; Machine Name: ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de

X2Go Bug tracking system

Debbugs is free software and licensed under the terms of the GNU Public License version 2. The current version can be obtained from https://bugs.debian.org/debbugs-source/.

Copyright © 1999 Darren O. Benham, 1997,2003 nCipher Corporation Ltd, 1994-97 Ian Jackson, 2005-2017 Don Armstrong, and many other contributors.