X2Go Bug report logs - #1508
non Latin 1 passwords are rejected

version graph

Package: x2goclient; Maintainer for x2goclient is X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>; Source for x2goclient is src:x2goclient.

Reported by: Sylvain Cuaz <sylvain@ilm-informatique.fr>

Date: Fri, 27 Nov 2020 13:40:04 UTC

Severity: normal

Found in version

Reply or subscribe to this bug.

Toggle useless messages

View this report as an mbox folder, status mbox, maintainer mbox

Report forwarded to x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org, X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>:
Bug#1508; Package x2goclient. (Fri, 27 Nov 2020 13:40:04 GMT) (full text, mbox, link).

Acknowledgement sent to Sylvain Cuaz <sylvain@ilm-informatique.fr>:
New Bug report received and forwarded. Copy sent to X2Go Developers <x2go-dev@lists.x2go.org>. (Fri, 27 Nov 2020 13:40:05 GMT) (full text, mbox, link).

Message #5 received at submit@bugs.x2go.org (full text, mbox, reply):

From: Sylvain Cuaz <sylvain@ilm-informatique.fr>
To: submit@bugs.x2go.org
Subject: non Latin 1 passwords are rejected
Date: Fri, 27 Nov 2020 14:26:18 +0100
Package: x2goclient

Passwords with accents are rejected by x2goclient while working fine directly with ssh.

Client OS Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS with libssh 0.9.3-2ubuntu2.1
Server OS Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS

According to the documentation of ssh_userauth_password(), passwords should be passed as UTF-8. But 
sshmasterconnection.cpp passes auth_password.toLatin1(). I think just changing to 
auth_password.toUtf8() should suffice.

Same thing goes for ssh_userauth_kbdint_setanswer() and maybe other calls.



Send a report that this bug log contains spam.

X2Go Developers <owner@bugs.x2go.org>. Last modified: Thu May 30 18:10:40 2024; Machine Name: ymir.das-netzwerkteam.de

X2Go Bug tracking system

Debbugs is free software and licensed under the terms of the GNU Public License version 2. The current version can be obtained from https://bugs.debian.org/debbugs-source/.

Copyright © 1999 Darren O. Benham, 1997,2003 nCipher Corporation Ltd, 1994-97 Ian Jackson, 2005-2017 Don Armstrong, and many other contributors.